The Known World

Music for piano and mixed media for and from a changing climate

This concert program entitled The Known World features works for piano and mixed media created using environmental data. Five composers each bring their five distinct voices to raise awareness to ongoing environmental changes through sound and music. These pieces together create an instantly compelling palette, one that simultaneously combines current 3D fabrication technologies with ideas, materials and traditions inspired by the natural world. Electronic sounds mixed with breath, ice crackling, animal cries, hand-made instruments and sonic objects along with a technologically reimagined piano, create a kind of harmony with contrasting lyrical improvisations and the overhead whine, purr and rumble of the nearby urban environment.

On the program:

Iceprints (2010) by Matthew Burtner
for piano and 8-channel media

West Pole (2009) by Panayiotis Kokoras
for one piano/percussion player and electronics

Siren Cloud (2010) by Chris Chafe
for piano, breath sensors and live electronics

FrostbYte by Daniel Blinkhorn
piano and video

Shimmer Tree by Kotoka Suzuki
piano and electronics